Book Spine Poems

In spite of the fact that April is over, I find myself still playing with poetry.  Its a great way to stretch my writer-ly horizons because I am NOT a poet.  Not by a long shot.

I read about book spine poems on the Stenhouse blog.  Book spine poems are created from the titles of books as written on the book spine.

They are like found poems in that you create the poem from found text.

Unlike the text used to generate a found poem, you can rearrange the text to a point because you are the one stacking the books.  I found that library books don’t work particularly well for this because, often, part of the title is obscured by the library label.

I  limited myself to using books from one room.  Although it wasn’t a conscious decision, I also limited myself to the bookshelves over the center portion of my desk.

Here is my first attempt.  Why not give it a try and see what you come up with?

–SueBE

 

5 thoughts on “Book Spine Poems

    1. As with so much that is writing related, it was harder than I thought it would be. Of course, with the number of books in this house, I should be able to create dozens and dozens of these poems.
      –SueBE

Leave a comment