All It Takes is One Idea to Help Your Brain Engage

A statue of George Erath, a ranger surveyor

When we were in Austin, the boys decided we were going to the Texas Ranger Museum in Waco. As much as I love museums, this one was not my favorite. First of all, it meant a 2.5 hour round trip added on to the 12.5 hour drive home. I had a feeling that I knew what it would feature and felt smug when I saw all the hand guns, long guns and cowboy boots. Oh boy!

But then I found an awesome display on ranger surveyors. In high school, my father worked as a surveyor. I got to see a transit, an alidade, and a survey chain. I love old tools especially the gorgeous brass surveying and navigational tools. My husband says not everyone would find them gorgeous. But this was the first display that grabbed my attention and engaged my brain.

Then I found the section on Bonnie and Clyde. There were other displays on prohibition. Next up was a display on the first woman governor of Texas. (Missouri, are you listening, cause you are behind by almost 100 years!) There were four women who worked vs illegal gambling and more.

This wasn’t someplace where I thought I would find a lot of ideas. I should have known better. But I was down on the whole idea of going to this museum because of the Porvenir Massacre. In 1918, a group of rangers, ranchers, and US cavalry executed 15 unarmed Mexican American men and boys. The discussion of this topic wasn’t extensive, but it was included in one of the exhibits.

This wasn’t someplace where I thought I would find a lot of ideas. I should have known better. Always keep your eyes, and your mind, open. Find one idea and you are likely to find two or three more. At least that’s generally my experience.

–SueBE

Leave a comment