A Right Way and a Wrong Way to Use Social Media

Are your followers this excited to hear from you?
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto on Pexels.com

I follow a variety of authors on Twitter and Bluesky. I’ve signed up for emails from some of them. Others, I will never let send me something via email. Why is that? Because of what they post on social media.

Two of my favorites are Neal Gaiman and Stephen King. I’m not delusional. I’m sure they both work with publicists, but as individuals they both seem to be business savvy.

I get emails from King maybe once a week. He sends out messages about his upcoming books. There is news when a book comes out in paperback or there is an audiobook. There are periodic freebies including previews. But he also recommends books by other writers. “While we’re waiting for me to finish this book, here are some great books I’ve read.” He isn’t just trying to get me to buy his books. He’s holding up other authors.

Gaiman writes about his own work. Why not? Like King, he’s prolific. He frequently posts when something is adapted to screen. But he also posts when amazing comic book art is being auctioned. And stage events featuring other creatives.

Then there are the authors, also big names, who only post about themselves or their work. One author I still follow but I haven’t read in several years. And it isn’t that I’ve quit reading the types of books this author writers. This person’s work is likely shelved with that of Gaiman and King. I’d be more intrigued to read this person’s work if tweets and posts weren’t always “me, me, me.”

There are a few lessons in here about how to do social media right. I’m talking about social media in the broadest sense – e-mail, Facebook, blogs, Tweets, instagram, etc.

Don’t Just Promote Yourself

Don’t just hold up your own writing or other artistic work. Promote the work of other writers. Link to their books. Tell people when they are having a sale or giving something away. Which reminds me…

Give Things to Your Readers

Another great way to keep people coming back is to give things to your readers. For a children’s writer, this could include writing tips, teacher’s guides or free stories. You might provide activities to go with your books.

Be . . . Real

I was going to say be humble, but sometimes we are too humble. It is a good thing to tell people about sales and awards. But don’t refer to yourself in ridiculous terms. Legendary? Unappreciated gem? Please, just stop.

The people who follow you want to know about your work. But they don’t want a hard sell every single time they hear from you. It is, as my mother would have said, unbecoming.

Be like Stephen King and Neil Gaiman but, maybe, a little less scary.

–SueBE