When You Don’t Know What You’re Writing About

Do you play it safe and write about things you know? Hmm. That sounded rude, but it shouldn’t.

A lot of writers focus on whatever they are an expert in — cooking, decorating, publicity, etc. My cousin is working on a self-help book. It covers what he does for a living. Honestly? Capitalizing on what you know is a smart thing to do.

I know that some of my fellow educational nonfiction writers do this. And I have written books about things in which I have a basic understanding. Ancient Maya, The Evolution of Reptiles, and The Evolution of Mammals, all build on things I learned studying anthropology. Good for me!

But then there are other books that I’ve written. When I accepted the assignment to write Cancel Culture, I knew what the term meant. Stem Cells? Meth? Steroids? Professional Gaming? I knew the terms and a bit about each. But I had a long way to go to write a book on any of these topics and many more. In each case, I started reading and quickly worked to gain some level of expertise.

This is that Brandon Sanderson calls the 50% expertise that is fairly easy to achieve. Reading and research will take you to that level fairly quickly. Getting beyond that level is tricky. This is why Red Line Editorial, the primary company for which I write, brings in content experts. A content expert reviews your book and points out the things that you need to change. Often they share information that still isn’t widely known, sending articles and book titles and explaining concepts. They are a blessing!

This is just as important when you write fiction. Even if you write about a topic in which you are an expert, say writing, you are going to have to populate your story with characters. These characters could all be writers like you but I’m not sure that any editor will accept that every single person in a town or on a planet writes the same things that you write. You’re going to have to create a variety of characters. How do you write about someone who is different than yourself?

As with other things, you start with your research. Once I think I’ve achieved the necessary expertise, I face a decision. Do I count that I’ve got it right? Or do I ask someone to review my writing?

My family is a wealth of engineers so I can find someone to look at the technical aspects of aircraft, manufacturing and more. I have friends who are trans, Muslim, and African-American. They can read my material and tell me if I’ve got it right or if there is some detail that I messed up. But I have to be willing to listen to them when they say I have something wrong.

Are you up to this challenge?

–SueBE