ALA Awards Announced

Monday morning, while I was in yoga, the American Library Association announced the 2020 youth media award winners.  Look out – this is quite a list but oh so many great books!  I am going to give you the names of the winners.  For the honors books, see the complete ALA listing.

Newbery winner: New Kid by Jerry CraftI have to say that I loved this graphic novel.  Loved.  It.  Laugh-out-loud funny but also packs a punch.

Caldecott winner: The Undefeated, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Kwame Alexander.

Coretta Scott King Book Award winner (recognizes African-American authors and illustrators) for author: New Kid by Jerry Craft.

Coretta Scott King Book Award for illustrator: The Undefeated, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Kwame Alexander.  Obviously, I need to request this book from the library!

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: Genesis Begins Again, written by Alicia D. Williams.

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award: What Is Given from the Heart, illustrated by April Harrison, written by Patricia C. McKissack. Pat taught the only class I took on writing fiction, a continuing education class on writing for children.  She was so inspirations and encouraging.

Michael L. Printz Award (for young adult books) winner: Dig written by A.S. King.

Schneider Family Book Award (for books that express the disability experience) winner for young children’s books: Just Ask! Be Different, Be Brave, Be You by Sonia Sotomayor, illustrated by Rafael López.

Schneider Family award for middle grade: Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly.

Schneider Family award for young adults: Cursed by Karol Ruth Silverstein.

Children’s Literature Legacy Award winner:  Kevin Henkes.  Have loved his work for years!

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults winner: Steve Sheinkin.  Highly inspirational.  If you write nonfiction for teens, read his books. 

Odyssey Award for best audiobook winner: Hey, Kiddo: How I Lost My Mother, Found My Father, and Dealt with Family Addiction produced by Scholastic Audiobooks.  Book written by Jarrett J. Krosoczka. I haven’t heard the audiobook but loved the graphic  novel. And I’m breaking my own pattern here but one of the honor books was written by a friend, We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga produced by Live Oak Media, written by Traci Sorell.

Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator winner for illustration: Dancing Hands: How Teresa Carreño Played the Piano for President Lincoln illustrated by Rafael López. Written by Margarita Engle.  My library is going to be so busy! 

Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator winner for text: Sal and Gabi Break the Universe written by Carlos Hernandez.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award winner: Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story by Kevin Noble Maillard. The library book is sitting on my desk! 

Stonewall Book Award for literature relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience winner: When Aidan Became a Brother by Kyle Lukoff.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for beginning reader winner: Stop! Bot! by James Yang.

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults winner: Free Lunch by Rex Ogle.

Asian/Pacific American Award picture book winner: Queen of Physics: How Wu Chien Shiung Helped Unlock the Secrets of the Atom by Teresa Robeson, illustrated by Rebecca Huang. Awesome STEM title! 

Asian/Pacific American Award middle grade winner: Stargazing by Jen Wang.

Asian/Pacific American Award young adult winner:  They Called Us Enemy by George Takei, Justin Eisinger and Steven Scott, illustrated by Harmony Becker.

The Sydney Taylor Book Award winner for portraying the Jewish experience picture book winner: The Book Rescuer: How a Mensch from Massachusetts Saved Yiddish Literature for Generations to Come by Sue Macy, illustrated by Stacy Innerst.

The Sydney Taylor middle grade winner: White Bird: A Wonder Story by R. J. Palacio.

The Sydney Taylor young adult winner: Someday We Will Fly by Rachel DeWoskin.

The American Indian Youth Literature award Picture Book winner: Bowwow Powwow: Bagosenjige-niimi’idim by Brenda J. Child (Red Lake Ojibwe).

The American Indian Youth Literature Middle Grade Book winner: Indian No More by Charlene Willing McManis (Umpqua/Confederated Tribes of Grande Ronde) with Traci Sorell (Cherokee).  So excited to see another win for my friend Traci! 

The American Indian Youth Literature young adult winner: Hearts Unbroken by Cynthia Leitich Smith (Muscogee).  So glad the library’s order has arrived!

What an amazing and awe-inspiring list of books.  Take the time to request five or ten from your local library!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s