One Writer’s Journey

October 16, 2017

Hidden Human Computers Nominated!

It has been completely sureal.  Friday I was working my fanny to a frazel, editing the last two chapters of a new Abdo title because I had a deadline to meet.

Then I see a tweet from my publisher:

The book I co-authored with Duchess Harris has been nominated to be on the Amelia Bloomer List for 2017.  This list of feminist literature comes out annually and targets readers up to 18 years-old.  These are the criteria for a book to be nominated:

1. Significant feminist content
2. Excellence in writing
3. Appealing format
4. Age appropriateness for young readers

You can see the full list of questions to ask yourself before nominating a book here.  The list is extremely detailed and the book would not have been nominated without the excellent book design for which I claim no credit.  But seriously?  Can I just say that I’m a little bit excited?  Excellent and appealing!

So often we put a book out there and then we wait.  Very few books, compared to the many published, get any recognition at all.  This?  This is truly amazing.

And I am so, so grateful.

–SueBE

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

