One Writer’s Journey

October 13, 2017

How Do You Read?

Paper?  Ebook?  Audio?

While I use ebooks when I do research, I have no interest in using a reader.  I know.  I might as well be a book-asaurus.  But that’s ok.  I work on a screen.  Unless I’m gaming or watching something, I’m not going to be on a screen during my leisure time.

Not that I’m opposed to everything electronic.  E-audio is fantastic.  Fan-tas-tic.  I love audio books.

So imagine my surprise and joy when I was going through my e-mail and saw something from a School Library Journal Partner. “Access RBdigital eAudio Exclusives with a Free Trial.”

What!?  It wasn’t just the idea of free access to literature that caught my attention.  The St. Louis County Library System, my library system, makes magazines available to patrons through RBdigital.  Yes, I read digital magazines.  But it’s on the treadmill so I hardly consider that leisure.  Work-out.  WORK-out.

Anyway, I popped on over to check this out.  So many books.

The offerings in children’s nonfiction are pretty lean but there’s quite a bit in children’s fiction including one of my favorites – The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.  They also have his short story collection War Dances.  

I’ve got another deadline to meet, but I need to do some more cleaning in this office of mine.  When I clean, I listen to music and audiobooks.  So it seems like a really good idea to check something out.

Wish me luck.  I probably need more with the cleaning than I do with the audio book.  I really and truly need a maid.

–SueBE

Blog at WordPress.com.

