One Writer’s Journey

September 15, 2017

Looking for an Agent

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 6:43 am
Tags: , , , ,

mswlAre you looking for an agent?  One of the best ways to find out what agents want is to explore the hashtag #MSWL on Manuscript Wish List Day.  The most recent #MSWL Day was Tuesday, 9/12.

I have to admit that I started out with good intentions.  Since it was Tuesday, I didn’t have yoga so I popped over to Twitter several times to see what various agents and editors had posted.  The easiest way to do this is the search #MSWL and then just click on the Twitter bird to add the newest tweets to the top of the feed.

The first time I popped by there were 40 or so posts.  Several of them weren’t terribly specific – just agents reminding you to go by the MSWL site and check their listing.  Honestly, I can see how this makes sense.  For many agents, these listings are incredibly thorough.  You get what the agency likes, what they want to see, recent favorite books and movies and more.  I saved a short list of names to check out.

Then I got busy writing.  The next time I popped by there were almost 70 new tweets.  I skimmed them and copied out the ones that overlap by own work.  The next time I came back, there were between 150 and 200 new tweets.  (help)

At that point, I decided that I better spend some serious time with the submission that is due a week from today.  I’ve worked on my chapter and outline for two days, popping back over to Twitter on Thursday.

By Thursday I know that the agents and editors have had their say.  Instead of searching “#MSWL,” I got a bit more specific.  First I searched “MSWL PB.”  That gave me 8 listings.  Yes, there were a lot more than that but there were 8 that describe my work.  Then I searched “#MSWL nonfiction.” Again, I narrowed down the search results to (drum roll) 8 listings.

One of the things that I noticed on #MSWL Day was the number of agents asking people to take their time to submit.  Make sure your work is ready to go.  Don’t get in a kerfuffle and send in something that isn’t ready just because you saw a tweet.

If you’re looking for an agent, pop on over to Twitter and do a search.  Don’t forget to check out anyone that intrigues you.  I’m sure the majority of agents that post are legit but, as G-ma used to say, use your head and be careful.  And, good luck finding the help you need to get your work into the hands of young readers!

–SueBE

Blog at WordPress.com.

