One Writer’s Journey

September 11, 2017

Books with Chapters: Where Does Middle Grade Fit In?

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:00 am
Tags: , ,

While I work on my latest nonfiction manuscript, I’ve been pounding out a new fiction draft.  Initially I thought it was a chapter book.  Because of this, when I needed a mentor book, I pulled out a Magic Tree House.  Those are fantasy.  Mine is fantasy.  Those have two main characters.  Mine has two main characters.

I read through the Magic Tree House book.  Once I had a good feel for the characters and the pacing, I got to work. But as I drafted my manuscript, I found myself holding back.  “No, that doesn’t sound like an eight year-old. That sounds like a ten year-old.”  I haven’t been 100% comfortable having to do this.

Finally I started to wonder if maybe this really isn’t a chapter book.  It doesn’t feel like an older middle grade (a large part of my reading) but maybe it is a younger middle grade.  I realized that I need to do some more research, so I posted a question on Facebook asking my writer, teacher and librarian friends to make recommendations.

Wow.  The book titles have been pouring in and, although some of them are definitely older middle grade, some of them are in the younger part of the middle grade spectrum.  That’s part of what makes middle grade so tough as a “target book type.”  Middle grade isn’t one level as much as it is two.

Emma Dryden firmed up this thought when she commented on my post.  She reminded me that a younger MG character should be 10-12.  An older character, 12-14.  The plot, themes, emotion, psych and more has to fit within those age ranges.  This will, she pointed out, also impact the voice and POV.  Voice. That is definitely what tipped me off that I had a problem.  My character sounded too old.

My story is definitely younger middle grade with a character who is 10.  Fourth grade.  Not a second grader which is the age/level I tried to force.  Yes, this means I need to tinker with the first five chapters but that’s okay.  Now I can quit trying to hold my slightly sassy character back and just write.

 

For additional posts on writing for the middle grade market, see Middle Grade vs Young Adult and Writing Middle Grade Nonfiction.

–SueBE

1 Comment »

  1. […] week I blogged about where middle grade novels fit into the “book with chapters” spectrum.   On one […]

    Pingback by Middle Grade vs Chapter Book | One Writer's Journey — September 19, 2017 @ 1:05 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

