One Writer’s Journey

August 7, 2017

Your Work Space

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:04 am
Tags: , ,

Where do you work?  I’m a full time writer so I have a dedicated work space.  I have writer friends who have laptops and just flit around wherever.  They work in coffee shops.  They work in the park or a public garden.  They work in the library.  They get together and work.

Really?  I don’t get that.  I have the attention span of a 3 year-old on sugar.  Or maybe I have the attention span of a 3 year-old looking for sugar.  Everything, and I do mean everything, distracts me.  Our third bedroom is the family office.  It contains a massive desk that wraps around three walls.  This is my section.

People distract me.  Noise distracts me.  Clutter?  Clearly the answer is no.  From left to right you can see:

  • A crochet project that I work on while watching the video lectures for the class I’m taking on Ancient Egypt,
  • A poem that is all but ready to go to Highlight Hello,
  • In front of the Chicken Little poseable figure are lip balm, 3 lotions and a glass of water. Clearly  writing is very thirsty business.
  • Behind the keyboard is one of Cynthia Reeg’s books, Monster or Die, a paint sample, and agent research.
  • That pile on the far right?  Filing.  Lots and lots of filing.

Clutter doesn’t phase me in the least but noise and movement make me crazy.  Do not chew loudly, rustle snack bags or listen to your ear buds or headphones so loudly that I can hear them.  Do Not.

Although my son has always had a spot on this desk, directly behind me, he has always worked in the dining room unless he’s on the computer.  That is on the desk in here.  Otherwise he uses our massive dining room table.

But change is good and he’s decided he’s ready for a change.  At 18, he’s going to college in town for two years so he bought his own computer.  He has that on the dining room table. He was convinced he’d be comfortable with a desk the width of mine and had plans all set to build.  But he’s used to a dining room table so when I saw someone was selling a partner’s desk, a showed it to him.  40 inches deep.  60 inches long.

This isn’t a very good photo but his room is dark blue and it is overcast.  That’s his dad taking the wheels off this huge table.  His space is about twice the size of my personal spot on the communal desk.

But that’s okay, we’ll both have more space and we’ll both have quiet space where we can’t distract each other.

You can work in a coffee shop or in the middle of the sidewalk if that works for you.  Us?  We need quiet.

–SueBE

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

