One Writer’s Journey

June 13, 2017

2017 Hornbook Awards

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 3:47 am
Tags: , ,
Although the award was announced at the end of May, I’ve yet to see a post on all three awards.  So without further ado, the Boston Globe Horn Book awards for 2017 are:
NONFICTION AWARD WINNER:

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman (Godwin Books/Henry Holt/Macmillan). Sue here: I’m usually pretty good about spotting up and coming nonfiction but I didn’t see any buzz on this book.  The good news is that I’ve requested it but I’m in line.  I love to see that an award winner is circulating!

Nonficiton Honor Books:

Undefeated: Jim Thorpe and the Carlisle Indian School Football Team by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook Press/Macmillan).  I just wrote about Carlisle in my DAPL book so I’m curious about this one.  Will have to check it out.

Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White written and illustrated by Melissa Sweet (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).  Loved this.  Here is a link to my review

 

FICTION AND POETRY AWARD WINNER:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins).  I saw plenty of buzz on this one but it has been consistently checked out with a hefty waiting list.  Yay!  

Fiction and Poetry Honor Books:

One Last Word: Wisdom from the Harlem Renaissance written by Nikki Grimes, illustrated by various artists (Bloomsbury Publishing). I don’t remember seeing anything on this but I do love Nikki Grimes work.  

The Best Man by Richard Peck (Dial Books for Young Readers/Penguin Young Readers/Penguin Random House).  Loved this book.  Loved.  It.  Link to my review.  I had heard some bad things about this book but they turned out to be wholly unfounded.  I think that the issue was simply that it the subject is somewhat different from his older books but the characters are 100% Richard Peck.

 

PICTURE BOOK AWARD WINNER:

Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan (Caitlyn Dlouhy Books/Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster).  So many great books on this list.  See my review.

Picture Book Honor Books:

Wolf in the Snow written and illustrated by Matthew Cordell (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan).  Although I knew the book that won this award, I’m not familiar with either honor book. So happy to be able to request them from the library!

Town Is by the Sea written by Joanne Schwartz, illustrated by Sydney Smith (Groundwood Books/House of Anansi Press)

Hope you all enjoy reading some of these titles!  There’s always something to learn by reading an award winner.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

