One Writer’s Journey

September 14, 2016

RIP Barbara Seuling

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 2:22 am
Tags:

Product DetailsI spent all day yesterday in my cave working on the outline and chapter that are due today.  I’ve been slogging through this since Monday and emerged Tuesday only to see the news that Barbara Seuling had died.

Sadness.  Seuling wore many hats in the world of children’s publishing.  She was an author and illustrator as well as an editor.  Many of writers now her because of her book How to Write a Children’s Book and Get It Published.  This was one of the first books that I ever read on writing for children, working my way through a copy I borrowed from my local library.

Robert and the Attack of the Giant TarantulaIn terms of her fiction, she may be best known for a series of chapter books about a boy named Robert including Robert and the Attack of the Giant Tarantula, Robert and the Great Pepperoni, and Robert and the Hairy Disaster.  

Although I didn’t know Barbara personally, I always looked for her name when perusing SCBWI information.  She was also one of the original members of SCBWI, served as an RA and also served on the SCBWI Board.  I voted for her several times, trusting her knowledge of the industry to continue to guide the organization.

 

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be going to the library tomorrow.  I need to check their online catalogue first and see if any of the Robert books are available or if they are all in the hands of lucky young readers.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

