One Writer’s Journey

June 29, 2016

Brainstorming with Blippar

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:04 am
Tags: ,

coffee blippartI have to admit that I was really excited when I read Lee Wind’s post on brainstorming with the Blippar ap.  In short, you open the app and point your phone at whatever.  As soon as Blippar “recognizes” what the object is it will pull in a labeled photo which goes into a menu bar at the bottom of the screen.  Click on that menu item and you will get a grouping of words associated with this image.  See the photo with “coffee” in the center and related words around it.

This would be great if Blippar had recognized my coffee cup, but it didn’t.  It was determined to call it tea.  From tea, I was able to select “caffeine” and from “caffeine” I could select “coffee.”

Yes, yes, this might be somewhat useful because it would take me places I hadn’t considered but coffee was the best of a goofy lot.

A large framed beetle was “container.”

The skull on my bookshelf was “mask.”

My knitting was “indoors,”  but that was also what it called my Chinese dragon and the skeleton sitting in the corner of the room.

The vest I’m crocheting actually got “shawl” which was pretty darn close.  The crochet hook and a skein of yarn were unrecognizable.  So was a snowman, a horse, a book, and a cross.  I didn’t even have the nerve to try the okapi or Groot.

I love brainstorming and I really wanted this to work but maybe things that I am surrounded by simply aren’t typical enough.  If if works for you, let me know and I may give it another go.  I’m beginning to suspect that my super power has something to do with nullifying technology.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

