One Writer’s Journey

May 31, 2016

Memorial Day

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:52 am
Tags: , ,
Eagle close up

Photo by my son, Jared.

I hope that you plan to take some time off today since it is, at least in the US, Memorial Day.  I’ve been keeping up a ferocious work schedule so I’ll be spending some time with my family today.  That said, I had to tell an editor “no, I can’t have it ready that soon” to get this time off.

When an editor comes to you with a request, you don’t have to say YES to it as is.  I have writer friends who have asked for more pay.  I’ve refused to hand over certain rights. I’ve also asked for deadline extensions.  The funny thing?  When I ask for a bit more time, the editor generally gives me more than I requested.  Fine.  I’ll take it!

So, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to spend another day off with my family.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

