One Writer’s Journey

May 6, 2016

Deadlines Dead Ahead: Don’t Forget to take a break and recharge

air plants 2As you read this, I am most likely at the doctor’s office with my Dad.  That was the plan long before I had three deadlines on the calendar (picture book, nonfiction chapter, nonfiction outline).  To put it mildly, days like this are interesting.

Some people deal with these kinds of days by putting their butt in the desk chair and not getting up until they’re done.  Yeah, I’m not really one of those people.  The picture book and the chapter were largely done.  That just meant fine tuning them.  The outline was rough and by rough I mean frightening.  I’d work for a half hour or so but then I’d need a break because I had a problem that I had to consider.

 

As you may already know, I like to make things.  I like to work with my hands and have something at the end of it.  Earlier this week, I got a package with 18 air plants.  That’s more than they were supposed to send so I wasn’t really ready for them.  My solution was to hang the plants in wine glasses.

That means that my work day looks something like this —

8:30 – 9:00 rewrite 3 spreads.

9:00 – 9:10 cut the string for a holder

9:10 – 9:45 finish rewriting the picture book

9:45 – 10:00 start tying knots and stringing beads

10:00 – 10:30 outline two chapters and so on

This might not the best way for you to work.  Maybe your a butt in chair kind of person, but I’ve learned that butt in chair doesn’t work for me.  If I know I’m going to be there for 90 minutes, I can afford to goof off.  I know, I know.  Self-defeating.  But if I’m only in the chair for 20 or 30 minutes, I better get my butt in gear.

And those breaks?  I get to do something that helps me recharge my creative batteries.  In the long run, I’m much more productive when I take the time to creatively goof off.  What works best for you?

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

