One Writer’s Journey

May 4, 2016

Twitter Abuse

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:35 am
Tags: , ,

Twitter abuseNot too long ago, I finally gave in and joined Twitter.  I wanted to check out the Manuscript Wish List (#MSWL) but the new site was still under construction.  The old site was not being updated.  If I wanted to see what was what, I need to birdie up and Tweet.  Now that I’m on, I follow a few of my writer buddies and some of the authors I like.  I also still check out #MSWL but I’ve already spotted a trend that disturbs me.  Twitter Abuse.

I don’t mean people slamming someone whose tweet they don’t like.  That happens, I’ve heard about it, but I haven’t witness it.  What I’m talking about is lazy people not using a resource the way that they should.  For a week or so, I wondered if I was the only picky pill but then a user named Jackson tweeted “…please stop saying ‘I have xyz’ or ‘is an agent looking for xyz’ in #mswl.  It’s a resource for you to browse. not an advertisement.”

If you aren’t familiar with it, #MSWL (Manuscript Wish List) is a tag that agents and editors use when they are looking for something specific . . . well, somewhat specific . . . as specific as agents and editors ever get.

Peter Knapp wants middle grade with heart.  Genre is less important.  Heart is what “wins [him] over.”  Click here for full tweet.

Molly O’Neill is on the lookout for a YA novel about a gap year.  She specifies YA vs NA.  Click here for full tweet.

Liz Kossnar is much more specific.  She wants a picture book that shows the development through time of an artist.  Click here for full tweet.

That’s how #MSWL is supposed to be used.  It isn’t a place to post your manuscript description in the hopes that an agent will fall in love.  It isn’t the place to ask what young readers interested in X should be reading.  It is a tool for writers to use in researching agents and editors.

Fingers crossed that it remains a useful tool for those who need to use it.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

