One Writer’s Journey

January 20, 2016

Why You Need an Online Presence

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:33 am
Tags: , ,

web presence eyesI haven’t been doing as many author interviews since I no longer write for Children’s Writer, but a new project has my creating questions and looking for information on a handful of authors.  I know I’ve said it before but I have to say it again – I am truly amazed by the number of authors who have no web presence.  None.

I am astonished by the number of authors that I Google and find . . . nothing.  Okay, that’s a bit of a stretch.  If they have books, I generally find their books on Amazon, Goodreads or their publisher’s website.  That’s it.

I don’t find anything about the author.  Not a web page.  Or a blog.  Or a Facebook page.  Nada.  The only way that I would be able to contact the author is through the publisher and right now, in the age of E-mail Easyness, I’m not going to do that.  I’m going to simply contact someone else.

Okay, I know that having me not be able to find you is only a minor hardship.  You won’t be interviewed.  But an interview in a publication that caters to writers is free advertising for your work.

And if I can’t find easy contact information, neither can a teacher or librarian.  What?  You aren’t interested in school visits?

What about a conference or Con organizer? They can’t easily find you either.  Sure, some of them might go through the trouble of contacting your publisher, but there’s a very real chance that they won’t.

If you write for teens and adults, your fans can’t find you either.

Now I’m not saying that your web presence should take precedence.  Your writing is still more important.  But a web presence is a great way to market that writing.  Think about it.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

