One Writer’s Journey

December 3, 2015

Brainstorming: My PiBoIdMo Experience

brainstorming ideasPiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month) ended on Monday.  Going with the stated goals (30 ideas in 30 days), I have achieved success.  I came up with 33 picture book ideas and 3 middle grade/ya ideas.  What can I say?  I don’t always brainstorm with a G-rating.  All in all I have:

20 fiction ideas.  Yeah, I’m surprised too.  Me — Ms. Nonficiton author has 20 fiction ideas and NO straight-up nonfiction.  Why do I say straight-up nonfiction?  Because I have . . .

4 ideas that could go either way.  As nonfiction they would have a faction feel.  One would easily work as fiction.  The others? I’m not as sure, but I really like 3 of them so will have to play with how to make them work best.

2 based on Bible stories

7 fractured fairy tales.

Out of those ideas, how many will I draft?  You probably understand that I can’t give a definite answer because some ideas seem great until you try to write them and then . . . fizzle.  That disclaimer aside there are thirteen that I definitely want to write including two zombie stories, a survival guide, a Columbus Day story that will be a cummulative tale, a stone soup type story, the fractured fairy tales and one involving food science.  Those are the ones I’m most enthusiastic about but that could change.  After all, I never intentionlly wrote down a bad idea.

There are also the seven ideas that might work.  I don’t dislike them but I’m not sure.  Sometimes if I let something like that percolate a solid idea will come together.

At the moment I’m working on Women in Sports.  I should be done with that two weeks from today. During that time I’ll blog and work on the book and not much else although I might find time to outline a picture book.  How will I choose which one to do first? None of them are more timely than the others so I’ll skim the list and see which one catches my attention.

I hope that your PiBoIdMo brainstorming yielded some results that you can turn into picture books!

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

