One Writer’s Journey

November 26, 2015

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy ThanksgivingFor those of you who are in the US like I am, today is Thanksgiving Day.

We’re always warned not to make assumptions during the holidays.  Don’t assume that everyone has a loving family to spend time with.  Don’t assume that everyone enjoys this time of year.

I understand that but I’m still going to make an assumption.  I’m going to assume that if you’re reading this that you are a writer or are interested in writing.  I’d like to encourage you to spend a few moments in contemplation and consider this — what are you thankful for in the writing realm?

I am thankful that I make my living as a writer.  Yes, part of this is due to hard work on my part, but not all of it.  There are a lot of hard working writers who don’t have a supportive spouse.  I am thankful that I have a spouse who supports this way of life even if he doesn’t always “get it.”

I am thankful for my co-author Duchess Harriss.  Whenever I write a book for Red Line, they bring in an expert to evaluate my work.  Not surprisingly, someone with a greater depth of knowledge then I posess always comes up with something that needs to be changed.  Duchess is a step beyond this.  She took ownership of the book in a way that none of the other experts have done and immediately saw what it could be.  Thank you to Duchess for helping Black Lives Matter be that book, definitely a step above and beyond the book I had created on my own.

Last but not least, I am thankful for the online writing community.  When I started writing, I was one woman sitting in her kitchen with an electric typewriter or working on the PC in my spare bedroom.  I hadn’t gotten involved in the internet to any great extent and blogging wasn’t a thing.  Now I’m part of a vibrant, giving community.  I’d like to thank all of you for that.

I definitely have plenty of reasons to be thankful.  I hope that you do too.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

