One Writer’s Journey

November 16, 2015

Idea Generation

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 4:07 am
Tags: , ,
As you know, I’ve been participating in Picture Book Idea Month.  The goal is that during the month of November you will come up with 30 picture book ideas. So far, so good. On November 16, I have 17 ideas.
Now, I’m not going to tell you that I come up with an idea a day because that’s just not how I work.  On the days that I come up with ideas, I come up with at least 2 but as many as 5.
Part of the reason that I have no ideas on some days is that I need a certain amount of “in-put” as my father called it.  I’ve been researching to outline a book on sports so I wasn’t surprised when I came up with several sports ideas.
The problem was that after I came up with a few ideas . . . they just tapered . . . off.
Then I found some time to read blog posts.  In addition to blogs on writing, I read several on books and a whole bunch on science and history.  My husband thinks its funny but on my blog reader science and history are filed under “news.”  Whatever.  As I read these partcular posts, I come up with ideas.
And the interesting thing about that is that although I’m supposed to be coming up with picture book ideas, I’m coming up with novel ideas too.  There’s nothing too well formed but I get a general idea about the plot — think elevator pitch plus.
The more in-put that I have, the more ideas I come up with.  The more ideas I generate, the more I get.  I don’t know if this is how it works for everyone but it is something you might want to consider the next time you need to come up with a new story idea.
–SueBE
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

