One Writer’s Journey

October 22, 2015

Agents: A Bit More Research

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:13 am
Tags: ,

Agent HuntAbout two weeks ago, I took one of my three agent query letters to critique group to get some feedback.  As always my writing buddies had some great ideas.  Thank you!

Then I realized that with this one letter, I had done something a bit different.

In all three letters, I had told the agent why I picked them.  “This is why you and I are a good fit.”  One likes diverse books.  One has made sales to one of my publishers.  The third loves the same kinds of nonfiction that I love and we both love to craft and we like diverse books. But in only one letter had I mentioned one of the agent’s books.  “This book is very like mine in this way.”  See, says a statement like that, we have the same sensibilities.

And that’s a good thing.  By finding said books, I make sure that I’m a good fit with the agent.  By pointing this out to the agent, I let her know I’ve done my research.  I didn’t just draw her name out of a hat.

That said, I honestly don’t know what was wrong with me.  Any time you query an agent, you need to show familiarity with them AND with the books they represent.  How on earth did I manage to forget that in two out of three letters?  I have no idea, but I am glad that for whatever reason I remembered it before  the letters went out.

Now that I’ve remember it, I’ve done more reading about each agent and I’ve been to my library’s catalog.  Now I am waiting . . . and waiting . . . and waiting for the books I’ve requested to arrive at the library.

Big goof that I am.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

