One Writer’s Journey

September 17, 2015

Promoting Your Work: Create Infographics

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:48 am
Tags: ,

Create an infographicIf you’ve heard it once, you’ve heard it a thousand times.  “You have to promote your work.”  One way to do this is to offer a variety of materials to your readers.  Because I write so much nonfiction, I’ve been playing with the idea of creating infographics that teach about my various topics.  I could make up a Maya time line or a piece on Mayan science.  For Pearl Harbor, I could do a line up of the major personalities involved.

I could if I knew how.

Then I saw Cathy Hall’s Muffin post, An Easy Infographic Tool, about using easel.ly to create infographics.  I have to hand it to Cathy, it really is easy.  I know it isn’t brilliant by a long shot but I created the piece at right in about 10 minutes.  If I had gone into it with an actual plan (hence step #1), I could have actually done something impressive.

The top three features are:

It is free.

There are templates.

It is very adaptable.

 

I swear, the trickiest part was to save the blasted thing.  I didn’t join and was hoping that there was still an option to save your work.  I knew that Cathy used the free version so I poked around and finally clicked “Present.”  To me, this seemed much less clear than something wacky like “save,” but it worked.  “Present” took me to another screen where I chose “download” and “PDF.”

Whether you are preparing something for your site, your blog or as a graphic in workbook or other document, this is definitely a tool that you need to know how to use.

–SueBE

 

1 Comment »

  1. […] about a book, you can use the cover art.  You can create an infographic, which I blogged about here.  Or you can use a photo.  To find out how to locate photos, check my post today at the Muffin. […]

    Pingback by Blogging Basics | One Writer's Journey — December 2, 2015 @ 1:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

