One Writer’s Journey

September 16, 2015

Agents: Researching Agents

Agent HuntSo, who have I chosen on the great agent hunt?

Emily Sylvan Kim of the Prospect Agency.  Although the Prospect Agency lists everything from picture books to young adult novels, I was uncertain about submitting here because their market listings seem to discuss fiction.  There was nothing specifically about nonfiction.  But that’s why it’s a good idea to examine clients and works sold.  Two of their clients have nonfiction sales so they do represent some nonfiction and hopefully are willing to take on additional nonfiction projects.  I also liked that in the SCBWI agents guide they say that they are looking for “authentic writing that will strike a note with children.”  This sounds like a good fit so I’ll be querying Kim.

Sally Apokedak at Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency.  Although I like what I hear about Sally, Leslie H. Stobbe is a big name in Christian publishing.  That’s well and good but that’s not the bulk of what I write.  I want an agent that deals with trade publishers more than Christian publishers which, although they are a large niche, are still a niche. Bummer.

Susan Hawk at the Bent Agency.  The Agency web site says, “I’m interested in non-fiction that relates to kid’s daily lives and their concerns with the world. I’m actively looking for diversity in the stories and authors that I represent.” Hopefully Black Lives Matter will show her that I’m willing and able to take on “diverse” topics.  I also found quotes on the Writer’s Digest site and on Manuscript Wish List that say she wants to be surprised by the “new and unique” as well as liking “conceptual picture books” and writers with a wicked sense of humor.  I certainly have a different way of looking at the world and a warped sense of humor.  Add to this the fact that many of my picture book ideas are conceptual and I’m sure you’ll understand why I’ll be approaching Susan Hawk.

My next step?  Checking out how to approach each and getting the appropriate letter (query or cover) ready to go.  For more on writing this important letter, see my post today at the Muffin.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

