One Writer’s Journey

June 1, 2015

Writing Time: Working Writing into My Day

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:43 am
Tags:

writing timeHow hard is it for you to fit writing in your average day?

Because it is what I do for a living, I’m spoiled.  At least during the school year, I manage to write almost every day, Monday through Friday.

That said, in the summer, I don’t do quite as well.  My son doesn’t have his license yet and he’s a swimmer.  That means five days a week, I’m driving him to the pool and home again.  And then there are the meets.  And high school swim camp.

Yes, I still find time to write, but it isn’t nearly as easy as it is during the school year.

But I’ll let you in on a little secret.  If you act like writing time is nice but not essential, finding time to write is going to be a real challenge.  It doesn’t matter if you work full time, have a family, or are retired, other things will fill your day.

I’ve actually noticed that the more open my day is the harder it can be to get to my writing.  After all, I’ve got scads of free time. I’ll get to it! If, on the other hand, I have to get it done NOW because later I have to go up to school, attend a meeting or whatever, then I get it done.

What about you?  Is writing essential?  Do you make it a priority?  Or is it a nice hobby, something you enjoy but not quite essential?  There is no single right answer — it all depends on what you want to get out of your writing time.  Check out my post today at the Muffin for a bit on how what I write changes to fit my new schedule.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

