One Writer’s Journey

April 30, 2015

Rewriting: Take Your Time

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:25 am
Tags: ,

mulling a rewriteAbout five days before the retreat, I got my manuscript back from the editor.  There were some comments and boy oh boy did some of them look helpful.

I know that many of my peers rushed to get a rewrite done before meeting with the editor.  Not me. Instead I arrived with a list of questions.

If you rush into a rewrite, the changes you make will be mechanical.  Done it.  Got it.  Taken care of it all.  You’re just going down the list and checking things off.

I always take my time writing from an editor’s comments.  Even if the advice immediately strikes me as on the mark,  I take time to mull it over.  How will the changes ripple throughout the manuscript?  I also think about why the editor asked for a particular change.  If I understand why, I can come up with something that not only works but fits well into the whole and doesn’t feel tacked on.

One editor I heard speak at a retreat said that she didn’t want to see anything in less than 4 months.  She didn’t care if the manuscript was a picture book or a novel; she wanted us to take the time to make the changes our own and let them ripple throughout the manuscript as a whole.

How long do you spend contemplating your rewrite?

–SueBE

1 Comment »

  1. That’s really good to hear.

    Comment by calensariel — April 30, 2015 @ 3:57 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

