One Writer’s Journey

March 9, 2015

Setting Goals: Combine both short and long term goals

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:56 am
Tags: , ,

goal postsAre you a writer who sets goals?  I am but it may just be a byproduct of my somewhat anal personality.  When I enter my office Monday, I want to know what I’m going to be working on over the course of the week.  Not that that is always what happens but if I don’t set any goals, I don’t tend to get anything done.

If you haven’t been particularly productive, why not try setting some goals?  You might also consider setting goals if you’re writing income isn’t what you want it to be.   I use a combination of what I consider short-term goals and long-term goals.  I have both short and long-term writing goals as well as short and long-term financial goals.

Long term writing goals are big projects like a book.  This week, I’m finishing up the book that I will workshop at the upcoming Missouri SCBWI writers retreat.  I just agreed to write another book for Red Line.  That’s a long-term goal.

Short term writing goals are the steps to these long-term goals as well as shorter projects like brief articles or single craft activities to submit to a new market.

Then there are my short and long-term financial goals.  Short term financial goals are the ones that will bring in one check and one check only.  Red Line is a short-term goal because that is a work-for-hire project.  The writing a do for Education.com falls under this same category.

Long term financial goals pay in royalties.  This money is less certain because the sales have to be there for the check to come in but there is also the potential for long-term gain.  Because I can earn royalties on these sales, they hold the possibility of multiple checks into the future.  The books I have coming out from Schoolwide?  Those are long-term financially because they pay in royalties.  I want to be able to pay my bills nows but I’d also like to have money coming in to pay next month’s bills.

Do you set long and short-term goals?  If not, what kinds of goals do you set?

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

