One Writer’s Journey

March 6, 2015

Idea generation

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:40 am
Tags: , , ,
What else can I do with my Ancient Maya research?

What else can I do with my Ancient Maya research?

Last week I read a great post on idea generation by my fellow Muffin blogger, Luann Schindler.  Each week Luann picks a topic such as an upcoming holiday or a seasonal happening and then brainstorms ideas based on the following list — woman’s issue, man’s issue, kid’s/teen issue, a twist, outlandish idea, and an evergreen idea.

Adapting this list slightly since I primarilly write for kids/teens, I came up with:

 

  • girl interest (teen)
  • boy interest (teen)
  • younger reader (early elementary)
  • twist to surprise the reader
  • something way out there
  • evergreen topic

 

The question for me is how can I use this to get more Mayan sales?  What?  Didn’t I just write a book on the Maya?  Yes, I did.  But I can get more bang for my research buck if I come up with more pieces about the Maya that I can sell to a variety of markets.  Using the idea generation list above, I came up with:

 

Girl interest (teen):

  • How to print a t-shirt with a design that looks like a huipil (woman’s blouse)
  • Working woman’s survival show, Maya style — jobs held by women

Boy interest (teen)

  • Who would win the fight, a Maya warrior or a Roman centurian?  (Got this eavesdropping on a certain group of boys.)
  • The Mayan ball game as a blood sport.

Younger reader (early elementary)

  • Mayan math.  They didn’t use base 10.
  • Craft: Pectoral (large pendant like object of jade)

Twist to surprise the reader

  • Not all Mayan sacrifices were fatal.
  • There are still Maya living in Central America today.

Something way out there

  • What Would the Maya Pin
  • Mayan Halloween Costumes
  • What would have happened if the Pilgrims had landed in the Yucatan (I wouldn’t say these are good, but I can do wacky)

Evergreen topic

  • Mayan environmentalism (green topics)
  • Mayan school (first day of school)

 

I’m not going to say that these are all brilliant but I hope you can see the possibilities.  The next time you finish a major project, spend some time brainstorming what else you can do on that subject.  Get the most bang for your research buck.  Check out my piece on brainstorming ideas to compliment my Maya book and increase my income tomorrow at the Muffin.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

