One Writer’s Journey

January 13, 2015

More Nerdy Book Awards

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:51 am
Tags: ,

NerdyLast Monday, I posted about the Nerdy Book Awards for nonfiction picture books.  I wanted to follow up this week with their other awards lists but there are 7 more lists.  I don’t even know how many more books that is but I didn’t want to blog about only awards lists for an entire week.  So I’ll simply provide links to the various lists and a few comments.

2014 Nerdy Awards for Fiction Picture Books.  This is another great selection and I have several of these books on request and am just waiting for them to arrive.

2014 Nerdy Awards for Poetry and Novels in Verse.  I especially enjoyed seeing titles I loved on the picture books in this category. I’ve recently discovered David Elliott. Jon Muth, Joyce Sidman and Laura Purdie Salas are authors whose books I pick up whenever I see them.

2014 Nerdy Awards for Middle Grade Fiction.  I loved both the Ghost of Tupelo Landing and The Night Gardener.  If you don’t read anything else on this list, big mistake!, read those.

2014 Nerdy Awards for Young Adult Fiction.  An incredibly varied list with everything ranging from fantasy to contemporary fiction.

2014 Nerdy Awards for Graphic Novels.  Maybe because my own young reader is a teen, but I tend to forget that graphic novels are also written for much younger readers.  This list anchored by those younger books to the point that it makes me wonder, where are the books for teens?

2014 Nerdy Awards for MG/YA Nonfiction.  Since I write teen nonfiction, this list is one I plan to study. I’m glad to see that with the buzz it has been getting, my own library has Dreaming in Indian on the shelves.

2014 Nerdy Awards for Early Readers and Chapter Books.  Not at all surprised to see another Mo Willems books with Waiting Is Not Easy!  I really liked The Princess in Black but have to admit that I’m pretty excited about the non-cuteness promised by Lulu’s Mysterious Mission. 

If you’re looking for some top notch books to study, go through these lists and see what catches your attention.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

