One Writer’s Journey

November 25, 2014

How Many Is Too Many?

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:20 am
Tags: ,

too manyHow many publishers should you write for at any given time?

This is one of those questions that I’ve been pondering lately as I work to finish my lastest RedLine project while things for Schoolwide go to final.  Now, I’m not technically writing anything for Schoolwide but the fact checker has come back to me with several questions.  I’m also having to do author information sheets for the pieces that are nearing their release dates.

Add to this the fact that I have three other editors that I work with more or less regularly.  The one is getting a few blog posts a month.  Another can’t purchase any new content for about 2 more months.  I’m not on any kind of schedule with the third and write for her when I have time.

Does this mean that I have too many editors?  I don’t think so but there are people who would say yes because of the number of areas in which I write.

I’m writing:

  1. Educational Nonfiction (Red Line and Schoolwide)
  2. Crafts and Activities (Education.com)
  3. Piece for Writers (The Muffin and CBI)

At one point, category #3 was my mainstay but with the demise of Children’s Writer newsletter, that is no longer the case.  But about the time the newsletter closed down, I was approached by Red Line after doing a lot of activities for Education.com and Gryphon House anthologies.

Although I understand the importance of having a platform, I think it is also important to have a sideline or two.  You never know when one or more of your “platform” jobs is going to disappear and you will need to find a new way to make a living.  That’s when having credits in another area will pay off.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

