One Writer’s Journey

November 19, 2014

Boy Books vs Girls Books

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:28 am
Tags: , , ,

boy books vs girl booksDo you write boys books or girls books?

Personally, I write books.  Some of them are about people.  Some are about animals.  One is about religion.  And I can honestly say that they would all appeal to both boys and girls.

I’m not a complete knuckle head.  I can see that some books appeal to girls much more than they appeal to boys.  Think Fancy Nancy and Meg Cabot’s Princess Diary books.  I’m not saying that no boy will ever read them, but the appeal will trend more towards girls than boys.

The strange thing is that it isn’t as easy for me to name boy books.  Sure, there are books that some marketing department or other has skewed boy — The Dangerous Book for Boys comes to mind.  But honestly, I’m the one that read it.  Not my son.  What’s he reading?  Right now he’s into the Walking Dead graphic novels.  But several of the girls are reading them too.

Why do we believe that boys only read books written by men and books with male characters?  My son knew JK Rowling was a woman and he still read all the Harry Potter books.  He also read The Hunger Games trilogy and Divergent is on his list.  Female authors.  Female main characters.

This is one of those things that I find myself thinking about although I have to admit that I don’t have any answers other than some speculations about adults and our need to label things and people.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

