One Writer’s Journey

November 11, 2014

Picture Book Idea Month

piboidmo2014bannerPicture Book Idea Month (PiBoIdMo) is well underway.  As I write this, it is actually the 9th which means that we are almost 1/3 of the way through the month.  In PiBoIdMo, participants are challenged to come up with an idea a day for 30 days.  Yes, you can come up with 2 or 3 on one day but technically that isn’t supposed to get you off the hook for the days you don’t do it.  Why?  Because the idea is to recommit yourself to being a picture book writer each and every day.

So far I have exactly 9 ideas.  I actually came up with two of them Friday night at some undetermined time between going to bed and getting up.  So, yes, I’m counting that as Friday and Saturday.

How do you brainstorm ideas?  I know that it I can find the time to do this for 15 or 20 minutes, I’ll get more and better ideas.  Why?  Because very often my first several ideas are not necessarily cliche but they aren’t terrifically original either.  If I can work at it until I come up with 10 or so ideas, numbers 3-7 or so will be the best.

Where do I get my ideas?  I read a lot of science and history blogs.  Those are always good for a host of ideas.  Pinterest is also good once I get into historic and nature photos.  I also tend to get ideas from my reading.  Most often they come about because of a fact or idea that I wish the author had explored further.  Or, I will pick a book up because of the title and then discover that it isn’t what I expected/wanted.

How do you come up with ideas?

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

