One Writer’s Journey

October 7, 2014

Brainstorming: Picture Book Idea Month

Ipiboidmo2014banner love coming up with new writing ideas, probably because I’m good at it.

But I have to admit that when I’ve had several deadlines to meet or am otherwise busy, I don’t always take the time to generate ideas that I don’t immediately need.  That’t the beauty of a program like Tara Lazar’s Picture Book Idea Month.

Picture Book Idea Month takes place every November.  The goal is to take the time to generate no less than 30 different picture book ideas.  Ideally, you generate one a day for 30 days.

I have to admit that that is not the way I tend to do it.  I’ll come up with one idea here and another there.  If I’m on deadline, I may skip several days in a row.

But when I commit myself to the program, something happens.  I come up with one idea and then another.  By the time the month of November comes to an end, I generally have more ideas than the 30 minimum, in part, because once the ideas start flowing, they really come.  Instead of having one idea to jot down, I’ll have two or three.

If you write picture books, why not take part in this challenge.  Just pop on over to the Facebook page and join the group.  Yes, Tara knows that the date listed is 2011 but it won’t let her update the name and this IS the current group.  Why not sign up and watch the ideas flow onto the page?

You might also want to read Sunday’s post at the Muffin to read more about brainstorming writing ideas.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

