One Writer’s Journey

August 22, 2014

Types of Poems

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:46 am
Tags: ,
Challenge yourself, and your reader, by exploring poetry types. Book spine poem, anyone?

Challenge yourself, and your reader, by exploring poetry types. Book spine poem, anyone?

What poem types do you know?  Educational publishers like activities that center on writing poetry.  Here are just a few of my poetry activities on Education.com:

Book Spine Poem:  Every line in this poem comes from the spine of a book.  Not as easy as it sounds.

Sensory poem:  How many senses can you work into one poem?

Tanka poem:  At only five lines, this one is good for new poets.

Terse Verse:  The answer to a riddle comes in two rhyming words.

I’m not a poet, so when I write a poem-based activity, I often stick with shorter poems for younger students.  What can I say?  I know my limits.

But I also want it to be creative which means that I need to go beyond the haiku, acrostic or alphabet poem.  No, there is nothing wrong with these forms but it is harder to submit an original activity based on a well-known types of poetry.  That’s why, when it is time to brainstorm, I skim through lists of poetry types.  Here are just a few of the ones that I use:

50 poetic forms for poets.  This list is for poets so there’s no concern about what may or may not be too hard for young readers, or non-poet writers, to duplicate.

Types of Poetry.  Comare these two lists and you’ll see that they sometimes call one type of poem by more than one name.

Introduction to Poetry Types.   A list of over 100 types.

Only three lists but lots and lots of poems.  Have fun experimenting with something new!  I know I will . . . Joseph’s Star looks fun.

–SueBE

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

