One Writer’s Journey

June 11, 2014

3 Books I Wish I’d Written

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:09 am
Tags:

I started thinking about this after reading Kristin Rae’s post on the same topic.  What books do I really and truly wish were mine?  My list would vary depending on when you ask me.  What books have a recently read and loved?  What books have I recently read and not loved?  What problems am I having in my own work?

Bearing in mind that this list is true only for NOW and would be different in even just a month, here are my 5 books.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I am a complete sucker for a new take on a fairy tale  and this one completely does it for me.  Cinder is clearly Cinderella but it completely blows aways what you would expect in a retold tale.  It isn’t historic set in another culture.  It is futuristic, yet still has a techno steampunk kind of feel about it.  I love that there is a strong thread of kick ass action to it and that the hero is female.  She’s sassy and irreverant, just to shake things up, a mechanic.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This one is contemporary fantasy and I love it for its real life boy characters.  They have been cleaned up or made sweet just to satisfy potential adult critics or book buyers.  These boys are 100% boy which means that while they may not think about sex ALL the time, they sure as hell don’t pull any punches when they do and when they have something to say they say it their way.  What this means is that it might be crude, that it is often rude and that you better just deal with it.  And yet, these characters are anything but cookie cutters.  Some are rough around the edges.  Others are polished.  And there are even those who are shrinking.  I adore this book’s honesty.

October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard by Leslea Newman

Read this book.  You must read this book.  It is short and anything but sweet because it is so terribly powerful.  This is a book that stuck with me for days and weeks.  I followed people through the house and read bits of it to them.  It is astonishing and poignant and oh so sad.  I wish I could tug a reader’s heart like this.

Right now, these three books are on the top of my hit parade.  I adore them for their honesty and the realities that they convey.  And I oh so badly wish that I could write like this.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

