One Writer’s Journey

May 8, 2014

Book Banning

I have one more retreat related post for the week, but I’ll save that until Friday.  I just had to share this book banning story that came my way.  As you know, I’m vocal in my objections to book banning but this one takes the cake.  Not only did they ban one of my all time favorite books, Sherman Alexie’s Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, they actually called the police.

I’m sorry, but what the heck do you say when you call the police for something like that?  I’m against freedom of speech?  I’d like to burn books but I haven’t filled out the right paperwork?   What ever they said, I suspect it had something to do with encouraging sex and minors, the police came out to see what was what.  I would love to have heard what those officers said on the radio about that…

Do we haul them in for distributing fiction in a nonfiction zone?

This was simply too strange not to share.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

