One Writer’s Journey

March 10, 2014

Rewriting: Getting Around To It

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:29 am
Tags: , , ,

Get to work on those picture book rewrites!

If you are anything like me, if you don’t have a deadline you can put off working on that rewrite again and again.  Fortunately, there is a challenge this week that can get you moving on your picture book rewrites.

In January, Meg Miller hosted her annual ReviMo which challenged authors to complete five or more picture book rewrites in one week.  It really got me going on some work that I had been putting off.  The program was so successful that Meg is launching a Petite ReviMo, 2 days of picture book rewriting, each month.

It just so happens that the challenge for March is Wednesday and Thursday.  I already know which manuscript I’m reworking.  After having my critique group go over the picture book on animal coloration, I realize that I need a new hook and a new final spread.  I also need to redo the back matter, beefing it up considerably.  I’ve had these comments on my desk for a solid month.  Clearly, I need this nudge to get me started.

What about you?  Care to join me in reworking a picture book or two this week?

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

