One Writer’s Journey

February 7, 2014

Cosmos

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:58 am
Tags: , ,

Cosmos, the television series all about science, appeared in 1980.  As a writer, there’s no question in my mind why it rocketed astronomer Carl Sagan to fame.  He made science accessible.  He made it exciting.  He drew viewers in and made them want MORE.

I was just starting high school but this was a great lesson for me as a future writer.

  • Take a topic you love.  And what’s not to love about science.  It is so cool.
  • Don’t dumb it down.  Sagan introduced the general public to the Big Bang, atoms and the workings of our universe.  But he also explained things in terms that people could understand.  He made science accessible.
  • Make it personal.  Throughout the book and the program were quotes.  Some from philosophy.  Some from religious texts.  You learned a lot about Sagan by simply paying attention.

Now if only I could decide if I am anticipating or dreading the Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey, or, as I am calling it: Cosmos: The Reboot.  Why?  Because they have also taught me a lesson and the program hasn’t even aired.

  • Choose a reputable publisher.  I know.  I’m being a snot.  But FOX?  Oh, golly.

I won’t know until the program airs.  I want to believe that this will be amazing but I’m going to have to see it to believe it.  Sorry, FOX.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

