One Writer’s Journey

December 19, 2013

Finding Time to Write

TimeFinding time to write can be tricky.  That’s why it makes me nuts when someone tells me how lucky I am that I get to write.  No, that’s not how it works.  I choose to write. This can be especially hard to do when everyone else is home.  Not that I write all the time, but still.

When everyone is home for the holidays, it can be tricky.  I need some writing time, because writing time is quiet time.  I’m not having to make small talk and interact with people.  If you’re an introvert, you get it.  If you’re an extrovert, you’re not going to get it so just smile and nod.

Here are a few things that I can do that make it easier to squeeze a little writing time into my day:

  • Announce my plans.  I’ve given up on sneaking off to write because that’s like hiding a treat from a dog.  Finding you is a challenge.  Instead, let them know “I am going to write for 20 minutes.”
  • Shut the door.  I don’t normally close my office door.  The study is right over the furnace and the room tends to get warm.  But when everyone is home, I put on a tank top and shut the door.
  • Fire when I see the whites of their eyes.  You laugh, but I have resorted to this.  Unless they come bearing gifts of chocolate, or warnings that they’ve set the house on fire, that door had better stay closed.  He who opens it will be shot with a Nerf dart.  Oddly enough, some people do not take this well and go off in a huff.
  • Interact.  When I finish writing, I make a point of interacting with them.  Because after you’ve all interacted for a while, the introverts will want to go their way and will gladly let you do the same…

For more on writing during December, and how it is like baking Christmas cookies, check out my blog post for today on the Muffin.

–SueBE

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

