One Writer’s Journey

November 5, 2013

Brainstorming: Generating Ideas for Picture Book Idea Month

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:26 am
Tags: , ,

piboidmo2013-participant-214x131November is Picture Book Idea Month which means that Friday,the day after Halloween, the day everyone else had off, the day before the Missouri SCBWI conference, I had to start coming up with ideas.  It was not shaping into my most productive day thanks to all of the above (sleeping in, lots of distractions, getting gear together for the conference).  I kept thinking, “I don’t have an idea yet for today.  I don’t want to be behind and I’ll be even more behind by Monday.”

Fortunately, I got on my treadmill and opened my blog reader.  If you ready last week’s post, Brainstorming to Generate Ideas, you may remember that Tip #2 is read blogs.  As I was merrily reading along, I came across the first Picture Book Idea Month blog post on Tara Lazar’s blog.  In this post,  Tammi Sauer recommends brainstorming titles.

Seriously?  Start a picture book from a title?

I was walking while listening to Pandora’s Rock and Roll station and up popped an Elvis song.  What can I say?  The King is the king and soon I had a title #1.

Once you start brainstorming one idea often follows another.  Soon I had not one idea but four.  Two of them are picture book titles — alliteration rules when it comes to brainstorming picture book titles.  At least when I’m on the treadmill.  Two of them are character names, a technique also suggested in Sauer’s post.

If you need an idea, don’t just ring your hands.  Read about how other people generate ideas and, when a method clicks, give it the space to work.   And a touch of Elvis never hurts.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

