One Writer’s Journey

November 4, 2013

Audience: Why You Need to Know Who They Are

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:49 am
Tags:

AudienceWhen I was a new writer, I didn’t completely understand audience.  I understood who they were — the people who would read my work.  What I didn’t understand was how important this was too shaping the work itself.

Now that I understand that, it means that I often have tough decisions to make when it comes to a particular piece of writing.  I’m not just writing about a certain topic, I am writing about that topic for a very specific group of people.

Take, for example, one of my current projects.  I am writing a nonfiction picture book about prayer.   The details that I choose to include are largely determined by who this audience is.

Take an audience of children whose families do not pray and are not spiritual. I have to assume they know nothing about prayer.

If, on the other hand, they do pray, they are going to know some of the basics.  I can spend my limited picture book word count focusing on something else.

I can’t decide what to include and what to leave out until I know who.  Who am I writing this book for?  Who is going to read it?  Who are they going to read it to?  When I can answer that, without a doubt, I’ll know what facts deserve a spread, a single line, or no space whatsoever.

For more on audience and how it shapes your writing, see my November 3 post on the Muffin.

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

