One Writer’s Journey

September 10, 2013

Do You Ever Give Away a Teaser?

Filed under: Uncategorized — suebe @ 1:34 am
Tags: , ,

Bloomsbury is doing something new this season – or at least it is something I’ve never seen before.  They are giving away a sampler with selections from four of their young adult thrillers.  You can get a free Kindle copy at Amazon.

I haven’t had the time to read it yet (I downloaded it 5 minutes ago), but I did take a quick look at it and I have to say that one thing surprised me.  Three of the four samples give you Chapter 1.  That makes sense.  Hook the reader and they want to read on.  The fourth sample starts you out with chapter 12.  Part 2.  Chapter 12.  Like I said, I haven’t read it yet and maybe the reason for this will make sense when I do.

But that’s not what I really wanted to discuss today.  Have you ever considered giving away a sampler as a teaser for your latest book?  You could give away chapter 1 (because I’m old fashioned enough to think that makes the most sense); a short story, reader’s theater or choose your own adventure that features your character and her world; crafts and activities; and maybe even an interview with someone who does something that relates in some way to your story.

What promotional material have you created to tempt your audience into buying your book?

–SueBE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

